Technology Professionals move to create one Canadian voice through landmark union

Printer-friendly version

The Canadian Council of Technicians and Technologists (CCTT) is proud to announce the strengthening of a unified national Canadian voice with the joining of the provincial technology regulatory bodies of Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Manitoba with Technology Professionals Canada.

With TPC’s original members (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Ontario), now joined by five additional provincial associations, the expanded organization currently represents nine provincial engineering technology and applied science associations which together make up over 93% of registered professional technologists and technicians across Canada.

The primary function of TPC’s member associations, together made up of over 50,000 members, is to better protect the Canadian public by regulating the conduct of engineering technology and applied science professionals.

Over the coming months CCTT and TPC will work together to transition the eventual suspension of CCTT operations and the consolidation of selected elements of CCTT’s legacy programs under the TPC banner. Upon the completion of this process, TPC will become the sole national body representing applied science and engineering technology professionals in Canada and abroad.

For more information contact: Rick Tachuk, President and CEO Canadian Council of Technicians and Technologists